top of page

Consistency

When I started my blog about one year ago, I promised myself to write a post every month. My last post was in November 2021. As humans by nature, we are very inconsistent. We are inconsistent in our friendships, family time, church, and time with the Lord. Excuses are something that comes easy to us without realizing we only do it for forgiveness on the inconsistency. For the record when I say “we” and “us” I am included. I find myself in a whirlpool of inconsistency. Not just in my writing but in everyday life. There is only ONE thing that I am glad is consistent no matter how many times I fail and that’s the Lord.


Hebrews 13:8 Jesus Christ is the same yesterday and today and forever.


Since I started my walk as a Christian I have felt severe pain and not living up to the name of being a woman of Christ. I don’t read as much as I should, pray as I should, and fellowshipping as I should. Some may ask “but you’re a Christian, why doesn’t this come easy to you as it should?” Although I can think of many answers the main answer is sin.


1 John 1:8 If we say that we have no sin, we are deceiving ourselves and the truth is not in us.


Even as Christians we struggle with the overwhelming power of sin. And when we feed into the sin we push further and further away from the Lord. We become inconsistent because of the shame or the “I already haven’t read all week, I’ll start again on Monday” attitude. I am guilty of it all. BUT we forget that although we change and fall short, God does not. The Bible tells us that once we have our hearts and minds focused on the Lord falling into sin is not as easy. The Holy Spirit is more alive in us.


Romans 8:5 For those who are according to the flesh set their minds on the things of the flesh, but those who are according to the Spirit, the things of the Spirit.


This is where the importance of consistency is needed. Many people will say “if you don’t feel like reading then don’t do it, which shows Christianity is based on works” this is a WRONG statement. This is called discipline which the Lord calls us to. The more we take time out of our busy lives and spend more time with the Lord, sin will flee. We need discipline because it he lps consistency. The same way we train for a marathon, we need to train for the battle of sin. The world is a sad and scary place. If we as Christians do not train our thoughts to look up to Heaven, we can easily fall into a lack of hope. This earth although very beautiful is just temporary. The pain, grief, broken hearts, lost friendships, and not feeling good enough is just temporary. Once this is all over how do you think your eternity looks like? Light and beautiful or dark and painful?


John 6:40

For this is the will of My Father, that everyone who beholds the Son and believes in Him will have eternal life, and I Myself will raise him up on the last day.


I am thankful for not being part of a religion that is based on works, I would never make it. But being part of the ONLY religion that is based on grace and sacrificial love by a Son of God on the cross, shows that no matter what we do no one can ever level up to a Holy Man, Holy God, and Holy Spirit who sent Jesus Christ to die on the cross for sinners like you and I. No work on earth will ever be enough to pay our debt because the debt was already paid for on the cross. It is never too late to come to Christ! Repentance of our sins and following Christ allows us to be saved.


Ephesians 2:8–10

8 For by grace you have been saved through faith. And this is not your own doing; it is the gift of God, 9 not a result of works, so that no one may boast. 10 For we are his workmanship, created in Christ Jesus for good works, which God prepared beforehand, that we should walk in them.


By: Belinda (IG: @belindaaolmoo and TikTok: belindar.olmo)

Belinda is a contributing writer for Bible and Hot Cocoa blog. She is currently in graduate school for Clinical Mental Heath. Bel also has a bachelors degree in English, which is such a passion of hers. She loves to share her experiences and how God’s Grace has kept her in all of the good and the bad. Belinda wants to use social media platforms to share the Gospel and how Jesus truly saves. For more content feel free to check out her Instagram: belindaaolmoo, TikTok: belindar.olmo, and my new blog site: www.belindaspeaks.blogspot.com.

5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Grief

Grief is something that NEVER comes easy. You can prepare for a loss you know will happen but that's just the pride we have to want to...

Resentment

This past week I turned a quarter century. As soon as October 1st hit, my mind and did a flashback of everything I’ve done until this...

Comentarios


bottom of page