top of page

Time

For the last couple of days, I have been thinking a lot about time. Whether it’s time spent on social media, internet media, or television. Is it bringing me purpose or giving glory to God and his kingdom? The answer is honestly no. I read a book a few years ago called The Practice of the Presence of God by Brother Lawrence. This book is small BUT the content is heavy and important. Brother Lawrence’s purpose of this book is to give recognition to Christians that we need to make sure that the time we have on earth is giving glory to the One who gave us life. “Let us think often that our only business in this life is to please God.” Some may say this is radical thinking but is it? Is it radical to practice living in the presence of God daily? Giving glory to God daily? Or reading? Maybe praying? No, this can’t be radical or impossible because the Bible says that we need to be ready.


Matthew 24:44 Therefore you also must be ready, for the Son of Man is coming at an hour you do not expect.

As Christians we need to remember that we do not know when the Lord is coming. We do not know the time or the day or even the year. Our time on earth should give glory to the kingdom as we will be held accountable for it all. Time is something we would never get back but we will be held accountable for all the time we wasted watching, reading, or talking about something that isn’t drawing us close to God.


Matthew 12:36-37

I tell you, on the day of judgment people will give account for every careless word they speak, for by your words you will be justified, and by your words you will be condemned.


I cut off all of the distractions I wasted my time on. Everyone has different triggers, but mine were Netflix and Instagram. The television series I watched and the posts I saw didn’t feed my spirit because it wasn’t for the kingdom. This past weekend someone mentioned that “unless it’s full blown demonic or really obvious of evilness then we shouldn’t watch it.” My statement was but if it doesn’t give glory to God why watch it? I then answered my own question and felt the conviction because my answer wasn’t just towards the person but me as well. The time I spend scrolling through a timeline or figuring out what show to watch can be spent reading and figuring out what Bible story I want to study.


Jeremiah 29:13

You will seek me and find me, when you seek me with all your heart.


We need to seek the Lord and we will find Him. Our Lord wants us to be in His presence and give Him glory all day. Our Lord knows our hearts and it brings me shame to know that He KNOWS my heart. My heart can be sinful and not Christian by all means. I still get distracted with other things and will always fall. This is why we need the Lord daily.


2 Peter 3:9

The Lord is not slow to fulfill his promise as some count slowness, but is patient toward you, not wishing that any should perish, but that all should reach repentance.


We shall seek repentance and crave the fruits the Holy Spirit provides when we are constant with God. What have you been doing with your time? Are you truly satisfied with your walk or can you use improvements in certain areas? How are you doing to change it?


By: Belinda (IG: @belindaaolmoo and TikTok: belindar.olmo)

Belinda is a contributing writer for Bible and Hot Cocoa blog. She is currently in graduate school for Clinical Mental Heath. Bel also has a bachelors degree in English, which is such a passion of hers. She loves to share her experiences and how God’s Grace has kept her in all of the good and the bad. Belinda wants to use social media platforms to share the Gospel and how Jesus truly saves. For more content feel free to check out her Instagram: belindaaolmoo, TikTok: belindar.olmo, and my new blog site: www.belindaspeaks.blogspot.com .

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Christian Science

Defining Christian Science In 1936, Christian Science was the fastest growing religion with 220,000 members, but dropped in 1990 to...

Comments


bottom of page