top of page

On Sin

Updated: May 6, 2021

Sin. Something that no one can get away from not even the most Christian person you can think of. The bible says,

Galatians 5:19–21 “Now the works of the flesh are evident: sexual immorality, impurity, sensuality, idolatry, sorcery, enmity, strife, jealousy, fits of anger, rivalries, dissensions, divisions, envy, drunkenness, orgies, and things like these. I warn you, as I warned you before, that those who do such things will not inherit the kingdom of God.” I have committed at least most of these sins in just one month of losing my mother. I do want to excuse my behaviors but it was painful living in a home that was the confront place for me and my mom to now becoming a home in which I was alone. I was a hard adjustment and in times I thought it would get better, it didn’t. I choose not be home all the time which lead me out and ignoring my feelings the only way I could and it was drinking and just not talking about it at all. That was my escape in high school at sixteen and it was not the way I wanted to picture myself at twenty-three years old. I was Christian, I knew and know the goodness of God why am I turning away now? Easy answer to that, I wasn’t rooted in the word. I was not reading, praying, or seeking Him daily. It’s easy for the evil thoughts and temptations to linger in when your faith is weak.

James 1:14–15 “But each person is tempted when he is lured and enticed by his own desire. Then desire when it has conceived gives birth to sin, and sin when it is fully grown brings forth death.” Knowing that my actions could send me to an eternal suffering scared me and woke me up. Although sin is equal to death, Christ took that death upon the cross so we are forgiven. We need to repent. Psalm 51 is the lament King David wrote after the prophet Nathan confronted him about his adultery with Bathsheba and conspiracy to murder her husband, Uriah. It is a model prayer of penitence from a truly broken and contrite heart.

Colossians 1:13-14 “He has delivered us from the domain of darkness and transferred us to the kingdom of his beloved Son, in whom we have redemption, the forgiveness of sins.” With Jesus you don’t need to find ways to numb the pain all you truly need is Him. I sin even as a Christian. I sin everyday with my actions, thoughts, and even my words. Sinning is something we all do. Christ forgives and He loves. What those few weeks helped me notice was how much I need Him. Do not be shameful of your sins to the point you feel like you can’t come to the Lord. Please come to the Lord in all your brokenness, pains, and everything you dislike about yourself and you will be made new through Christ. Carry your cross daily, seek the Lord, and know that you can’t do it without Him. You will see a change. Not always right away but the wait is worth it.


Zephaniah 3:17 "The LORD your God is with you, the Mighty Warrior who saves. He will take great delight in you; in his love he will no longer rebuke you, but will rejoice over you with singing.”


By: Belinda (IG: @belindaaolmoo and TikTok: belindar.olmo)

Belinda is a contributing writer for Bible and Hot Cocoa blog. She is currently in graduate school for Clinical Mental Heath. Bel also has a bachelors degree in English, which is such a passion of hers. She loves to share her experiences and how God’s Grace has kept her in all of the good and the bad. Belinda wants to use social media platforms to share the Gospel and how Jesus truly saves. For more content feel free to check out her Instagram: belindaaolmoo, TikTok: belindar.olmo, and my new blog site: www.belindaspeaks.blogspot.com .



5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Christian Science

Defining Christian Science In 1936, Christian Science was the fastest growing religion with 220,000 members, but dropped in 1990 to...

Comentários


bottom of page