top of page

Singleness

Updated: Jul 22, 2021

For the last couple of years being in a relationship has been a true desire of mine. When all of your friends, loved ones, and acquaintances around you are getting married and starting why wouldn’t you want it too. Of course, someone like me in their 20’s will get “you are too young to think about that” “just live your life” as if this desire is a bad thing or stop me from living life. We see how this something the Lord had made to be done in


Genesis 2:18

And the Lord God said, “It is not good that man should be alone; I will make him a helper comparable to him.”

It is wrong when you look for these men in the wrong places. Although I have only been in one relationship, I constantly found myself searching for someone who was exactly like me in many ways…but they did not love the Lord. That’s the first mistake.


2 Corinthians 6:14

Do not be unequally yoked with unbelievers. For what partnership has righteousness with lawlessness? Or what fellowship has light with darkness?

In scripture we see the importance of a man of God leading their wives and loving them as Christ loved the Church.


Ephesians 5:25"

Husbands, love your wives, just as Christ also loved the church and gave Himself for her.

The second mistake was taking matters into my own hands and not trusting the Lord and knowing that He knows the desires of my heart. Sometimes we catch ourselves trying to make things happen because “we feel that this is the right one” BUT we have to remember that the Lord is the beginning, middle, and end. He also loves us and knows our hearts.


Psalm 37:4-6

“Take delight in the Lord, and he will give you the desires of your heart. Commit your way to the Lord; trust in him and he will do this: He will make your righteous reward shine like the dawn, your vindication like the noonday sun.”


Where I am today. Being single I have truly discovered myself and who I am in Christ. I know I would not have been able to if I was in a relationship. As Christian’s we have to remember that this world is temporary. Relationships will come and go but the LORD is eternal and everlasting.


Revelation 22:13

The love we receive from Him even in our worst moments cannot compare to any relationship we seek outside of His kingdom. Our Almighty God knows what He is doing. Remember that He knew you even before you came to this earth.


Jeremiah 1:5

“Before I formed you in the womb I knew you, and before you were born I consecrated you; I appointed you a prophet to the nations.”


Although a relationship and marriage are still a desire in my heart, I choose to put the desire to love and know Jesus more first. I am choosing to set aside the “searching” and putting more trust into the Lord and know that He is the creator of all things and His will for me is far greater.


Matthew 6:33

But seek first the kingdom of God and his righteousness, and all these things will be added to you.


By: Belinda (IG: @belindaaolmoo and TikTok: belindar.olmo)

Belinda is a contributing writer for Bible and Hot Cocoa blog. She is currently in graduate school for Clinical Mental Heath. Bel also has a bachelors degree in English, which is such a passion of hers. She loves to share her experiences and how God’s Grace has kept her in all of the good and the bad. Belinda wants to use social media platforms to share the Gospel and how Jesus truly saves. For more content feel free to check out her Instagram: belindaaolmoo, TikTok: belindar.olmo, and my new blog site: www.belindaspeaks.blogspot.com .



7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page